Arriving in Much Wenlock twenty three years ago to view The Raven Hotel, we were immediately struck by the unspoilt beauty of the town, the rich and varied landscape which surrounded it and its unique history.
Meander the streets and discover the eclectic collection of independent shops including award winning bookshops, galleries, traditional stores, and even a remarkable ecclesiastical outfitters. Within strolling distance of the hotel there is the newly refurbished town museum and Wenlock Abbey (English Heritage) an exquisite ruin with a fascinating, well presented history. There is the Wenlock Olympian Trail and for more enthusiastic walkers the Wenlock Edge (National Trust) is within a‘stones throw’ of the hotel.
An introduction to Much Wenlock would not be complete without particular mention of its unique Olympic connection which became publicised world wide with the name ‘Wenlock’ being chosen for one of the two Olympic mascots for the 2012 London Games. It is a history which The Raven is very proud to share a part of having hosted a dinner between Doctor William Penny Brookes and Baron Pierre de Coubertin in 1890. Memorabilia, including a copy of the menu from that dinner are displayed in the bar of the hotel.
Visitors are urged to visit www.muchwenlockguide.info featuring a fabulous video presented by Kate Bliss and www.wenlock-olympian-society.org.uk; two brilliant websites which cannot fail to convince that Much Wenlock must be visited!